by Jeanne Sutton
by Jeanne Sutton
Functioning, a short story by Jeanne Sutton
0:00
-12:38

Functioning, a short story by Jeanne Sutton

This is what I wrote for you about 10 days ago:

Over the next while, as we settle into the adjustment period and our brain muscles stretch and burn, I have decided to try to commit to - analyse those three verbs please - a Monday publishing schedule. Chasing structure. Hoping for quality control. Lending my Sundays rituals of old.

Today, I am reading some of my fiction. The wonderful Banshee granted me permission to upload an audio recording of a short story of mine they published last year. You can purchase a copy of the journal here. To listen: I think if you click on the heading of this newsletter it brings you to the website version of the newsletter and you can play it from there.

Thank you to Eimear Ryan for the words editing and to Daniel McAuley for the sound editing. My voice is quite spitty so we put a metal strainer in a pair of opaque black tights and that did some magic. Aren’t I a portrait of make and do?

This is what I wrote for you a week ago after I listened to the file and sent Dan the list of fixes:

If you have any criticism of my elocution that’s… maybe racist because I’m from Tipperary. When French actors speak English and trip it with an accent it’s sexy. Another thing, I was really overheated throughout.

This is what I wrote for you last night, a Tuesday:

You either like it or you don't. If you didn’t, read The Crane Wife instead. I love The Crane Wife.

P.S. If you want to support someone who makes me and many others laugh, the comedian Alison Spittle has a Ko-fi. People who relied on live events for their income are having a more stressful time of it than a lot of us.

0 Comments
by Jeanne Sutton
by Jeanne Sutton
Mini-essays on modern life, culture, whatever makes it out of a little notebook to a word doc from Irish writer Jeanne Sutton.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Jeanne Sutton
Recent Episodes
  Jeanne Sutton